DUI Penalties in Orange County
Get a Board Certified DUI Defense Attorney on your side.
At the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc., in Orange County and throughout California, driving while under the influence is taken extremely seriously with penalties that have the severity to match. These penalties, however, depend on the circumstances of the case, including past criminal record, blood alcohol concentration (BAC), and more. Below, we have outlined some of the most common penalties that defendants are facing in DUI cases, as outlined in California Vehicle Code Division 11.5 If you have experienced DUI penalties in Orange County, and would like to learn how we can protect your rights, call us today. You can email Ms. Landry and her staff here. You can also listen to and or download her Orange County DUI Attorneys Podcast episodes by clicking here.
First DUI Offense
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 4 months
- Probation for 3 to 5 years
- 3, 6 or 9 months of alcohol classes
- Base fines or court fees of $390 to $1,000, and additional penalty assessments.
- 0 to 6 months in county jail
- IID requirements on any car you own or operate
Second DUI Offense (Within 10 Years)
- Driver’s license suspension up to 2 years
- 3 to 5 years of probation
- 18 months of mandatory alcohol classes
- AA meetings
- Base fines of $390 to $1,000, and additional penalty assessments
- 96 hours to 1 year in county jail
- IID requirements as above
Third DUI Offense (Within 10 Years)
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 3 years
- Up to 5 years of probation
- 18 months of alcohol classes
- AA meetings
- Ignition Interlock Device installed on defendant’s vehicle
- 120 days to 1 year in jail
Fourth DUI Offense (Within 10 Years)
- Felony charges
- License suspension for up to 4 years
- 18 months of mandatory alcohol classes
- AA meetings
- Incarceration in county jail or state prison
Enhanced DUI Penalties
There are a number of circumstances under which DUI penalties can be increased from the minimums in the state of California.
Factors That Can Enhance Penalties:
- A blood alcohol concentration of .15% or greater
- A blood alcohol concentration of .20% or greater
- A minor under the age of 14 in the car with the defendant at the time of the offense
- Prior DUI convictions
- Causing an auto accident resulting in injury or death
- Refusing to submit to a chemical testing
- Having prior felony offenses
- Speeding and reckless driving
Contact us today if you have experienced a DUI penalty and need our expert team to help.
At Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc., your satisfaction is our priority! See for yourself what our clients have to say about working with us.
Best DUI attorney in Orange County. She far exceeded my expectations. You can tell she cares about her clients. She’s strategic and relentless. If you want the best results possible, retain Virginia Landry.- Google Reviewer
My case was dismissed DUI, due to her help. I sincerely appreciate it. My case is finally over now. If you have any concerns or cases, and you need help but can't find a trusted lawyer, I highly recommend hiring Virginia. She was very detailed and meticulous on how she handled my case and I couldn't be any happier with the outcome!! She is an excellent lawyer! Do not hesitate to contact her, and again I really appreciate her help!- Bella L.
WOW!!!!! Virginia Landry is an absolute professional who knows what she's talking about. But she doesn't just talk, she is ALL ACTION. I was quite nervous as she was a referral and I'll have to say I'm so glad I was referred. Absolutely incredible and worth every penny spent. Her compassion is beyond my understanding, especially in these times. I can't say enough other than HIRE HER NOW!!! You will NOT be disappointed. A+++++++++- S.D.
FAQ ABOUT DUI PENALTIES
- Will I Lose My Driver’s License?
As soon as you’re arrested for DUI the police will confiscate your driver’s license. At this time, you will be given a temporary license that is good for 30 days. You have 10 days from your arrest to schedule an administrative hearing with the DMV. This hearing is your opportunity to contest the suspension of your driver’s license. If the DMV representative presiding over the hearing rules in your favor, your license will be reinstated. However if you are found responsible, your license will remain suspended. It should also be mentioned that even if you are not found responsible during the hearing, you can still lose your driving privileges if you are found guilty during the criminal part of your case. The two sides are distinct from one another.
- Will I Go to Jail?
Most people do not go to jail for a basic first-time DUI. That being said, there are certain factors that will definitely increase a person’s chances of being sent to jail, such as having multiple DUI arrests/convictions on your record, driving with a BAC of .15 or higher, driving with a child in the vehicle, or causing a serious or fatal accident.
The best way to avoid going to jail for a DUI is by contacting an experienced Orange County DUI lawyer who can ensure your case is aggressively defended.
- What Are Some of the Other DUI Penalties I Could Face?
In addition to license suspension, common penalties for a DUI include probation, fines, community service, and mandatory participation in an alcohol education class.
- Can I Expunge a DUI?
There are times when you might be able to have a DUI conviction expunged from your record. An experienced DUI attorney at our firm can provide you with more information about the benefits associated with expungements and record sealing.
- Will I Lose My Job?
If you have a job that requires you to drive, your employer may feel you are no longer fit for that position. However, there is no law that says an employer must fire an employee who is arrested on DUI charges.
CONTACT THE LAW OFFICES OF VIRGINIA L. LANDRY TODAY:
If you have been accused of drinking and driving, it is critical that you get the help of an experienced Orange County DUI defense lawyer to look out for your rights. At the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, we have helped people throughout Southern California challenge the charges that they are facing. We fight tirelessly to help clients reach the best possible outcome, whether charges are dismissed, penalties reduced, or even a “not guilty” verdict is won. To learn how we can help you fight to avoid serious penalties, get in touch with us today!
You Only Have 10 Days!
If you do not act immediately, you could lose your right to drive.
When you are arrested for DUI, the arresting officer will confiscate your driver’s license and give you a “notice of suspension” that will serve as a temporary license. California law requires you to choose between a breath or blood test if lawfully arrested.
If you failed to complete or declined/refused a breath test or blood test, the DMV will begin suspension proceedings starting on the 31st day after your arrest.
You must contact the DMV within 10 days of your arrest in order to challenge the suspension of your driver’s license, or it will be suspended regardless of the outcome of your case.
We handle making these arrangements for our clients.
The DMV hearing and your criminal case are two entirely separate parts to your DUI charges. Even if you are not found guilty of DUI, you could still lose your license depending upon how the DMV hearing goes.
Your Orange County lawyer will be able to represent your interests in your DMV hearing to help ensure that you have the best chance at keeping your driving privileges.
If keeping your license is important to you, you should speak immediately with an experienced Orange County DUI lawyer to discuss your options and to learn how your right to drive can be protected.