Are you facing driving under the influence (DUI) charges in Orange County or anywhere else in California? If this is your first DUI, the whole experience is stressful and unnerving. Here is a list of what you’re probably not aware of.
1. The officer will confiscate your driver’s license. By law, the arresting officer is required to take your driver’s license and forward a notice of suspension or revocation and your driver’s license, along with a sworn report, to the Department of Motor Vehicles. From there, the DMV will examine the officer’s report, any blood or breath results, and the suspension or revocation order. If the DMV upholds the officer’s suspension or revocation during its “administrative review,” you have the right to request a hearing to fight the license suspension or revocation.
You have just 10 days from the date of your DUI arrest to request a DMV hearing to contest the license suspension or revocation. We frequently represent clients at their DMV hearings in an effort to prevent their license from being suspended or revoked.
2. Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Programs are Mandatory. If you are convicted of DUI, you will be required to successfully complete a DUI program at your own expense. These classes are mandatory! There are four DUI programs in California: 1) the Wet Reckless Program, 2) the First Offender Program, 3) the 18-Month Program, and 4) the 30-Month Program.
3. A restricted license allows people to drive to and from work. In California, there is the “hard suspension” and the “restricted license suspension.” If you do not schedule a DMV hearing or if you do not prevail at the hearing, your license will be subject to the 30-day “hard” suspension, which means you cannot drive at all. After the 30 days passes, you may apply for a restricted license, which allows you to drive to your DUI classes and to work and back only. For drivers to qualify for a restricted license, they must enroll in the First Offender program and file an SR-22 insurance form.
Facing DUI charges in Orange County? Call the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to schedule a free DUI defense consultation!