Skip to Content Top

Alcohol Offenses By Underage Drinkers in CA


According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), “Alcohol is the most commonly used and abused drug among youth in the United States.” The CDC continues, “Excessive drinking is responsible for more than 4,300 deaths among underage youth each year, and cost the U.S. $24 billion in economic costs in 2010.”

Let’s take a look at the consequences of underage drinking. According to the CDC, young people who drink alcohol are more likely to experience the following:

  • Problems in school, such as poor grades and absenteeism.
  • Social issues, such as fighting and not wanting to participate in activities.
  • Legal problems, such as assaults and drunk driving.
  • Hangovers, blackouts, and alcohol poisoning.
  • Risky sexual behavior.
  • Physical assaults.
  • Sexual assaults.
  • Increased risk of homicide and suicide.
  • Trouble remembering.
  • Fatalities due to acute alcohol intoxication.
  • Abusing other types of drugs.
  • Long-term effects in brain development.
  • Alcohol-related accidents, such as falls and burns.
  • Drunk driving crashes.

Under 21 Alcohol Offenses

California has no patience for people under the age of 21 who drink and drive. That’s why under California’s zero tolerance law, it’s illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to drive with 0.01% or more alcohol in their system.

This means it’s illegal for a driver under 21 to drink any alcohol and climb behind the wheel. In light of that, let’s take a look at all of the alcohol-related offenses that apply to individuals under the age of 21 in California:

  • It’s illegal to purchase alcohol. A violation is punishable by a $250 fine, 24 to 32 hours of community service, and a one-year license suspension or delay.
  • The possession of alcohol in a public place is punishable by a fine not to exceed $1,000, a one-year license suspension or delay, and up to 6 months in jail.
  • Lying about one’s age or providing a fake ID is punishable by a fine up to $1,000, a one-year license suspension or delay, and by up to 6 months in jail.
  • An underage DUI is punishable by a $250 fine and by a one-year license suspension or delay.
  • A DUI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or above is punishable by a one-year license suspension, a fine up to $1,000, 96 hours to 6 months in jail, and DUI School.

Looking for an Orange County DUI attorney to defend your underage DUI, or that of someone you love? Contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry at once!

Share To: