Charged With Underage DUI?Get a Board Certified DUI Defense Attorney on your side.
Orange County Underage DUI Attorney
California's Zero Tolerance Laws
California is known for taking a tougher stance on underage drinking and has a strict zero tolerance policy that clearly states people under the age of 21 are not allowed to drive if they have any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. Under California's Zero Tolerance Law, it is illegal for any person under 21 years of age to operate a vehicle with a BAC of .01% or greater. Those underage drinkers who are found to have a BAC of 0.05 or greater can be charged with both underage DUI as well as regular DUI.
You may be wondering just how much alcohol can lead to a BAC of 0.01%? When you drink a 4-ounce glass of wine, a 12-ounce beer or a 1.25-ounce glass of liquor, you may have a BAC of 0.01%, enough to get you arrested for underage DUI.
There are a variety of different charges that a prosecutor can file against underage drinking drivers. The punishments also vary from court to court. If you or someone you love has been charged with underage DUI in Orange County, you will need the advice and guidance of a DUI lawyer who is experienced handling underage drunk driving cases. At the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, we provide aggressive legal representation to underage drivers who have been arrested for DUI. Young drivers have much to lose when faced with this situation.
Penalties for Underage Drunk Driving
If you are under 21 and are arrested for DUI, you face the following penalties:
First Underage DUI Offense
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to $2,600 fine
- Up to 10 month driver’s license suspension
Second Underage DUI Offense
- Up to 1 year in jail
- Up to $2,800 fine
- 2 years driver’s license suspension
Those underage drinkers who are arrested for DUI may not only find themselves behind bars, but may also lose their license for one year or until their 18th birthday, whichever period is longer. In many cases of underage DUI charges, judges may confiscate underage driver's vehicles, suspend their driving privileges, or require them to attend specialty driving safety and alcohol/drug abuse classes, among other things.
Negative Effects of Underage DUI
When an underage person is found guilty of drunk driving, not only do they stand to face legal penalties, such as driver's license suspension, fines, community service, probation, jail, etc., but a DUI arrest could also affect their current and future goals.
- If convicted of underage DUI while in high school, you may have to list the offense on college applications which could affect your admission into the college depending upon their requirements. You could also be suspended or expelled from extra-curricular activities, which can exclude you from scholarships.
- If convicted of underage DUI while already attending college, you may face additional penalties from the school, especially if you are engaged in a specialized area of study. Students who major in education or pre-law are often unable to continue on that course of study after being convicted. You may also be barred on certain college sports teams
- If a student fails to disclose the DUI on a college application and the school later finds out about it, the student can be kicked out of the school.
- Your auto insurance policy may increase or be terminated altogether. If your insurance company decides to keep you, they’ll increase your monthly premium by $100 to $200 or more – ouch! What’s worse, this raise usually stays in effect for three to five years, which translates to thousands more in insurance costs. Can you or your parents afford it?
We will need to discuss your individual situation with you in order to ensure what advise we give you and to make sure you follow our instructions correctly.
Contact an Underage DUI Lawyer to Discuss Your Case
As you can see, there is much at risk when a person, especially a student, is charged with underage DUI in Orange County. Please, do not place yourself at a higher risk of being convicted; call a DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible to give yourself the best chance of beating your charges. Contact an Orange County DUI attorney at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. today for aggressive defense from charges of underage DUI.