Charged With a 3rd DUI?

Get a Board Certified DUI Defense Attorney on your side.

Third DUI Offenses in Orange County

Orange County DUI attorney Virginia L. Landry is experienced in representing drivers who have been charged with a third DUI offense in or around Orange County, California. Facing multiple DUI convictions is a grave situation. For a third DUI offense, you may face a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 120 days. This may vary from county to county, with certain jurisdictions mandating a 210 day minimum sentence.

It takes thorough investigation and aggressive representation through every single step of the criminal court process and DMV hearing for a defense lawyer to secure positive case results for his or her client – particularly in the face of a 3rd DUI offense. This will include an investigation of field sobriety tests as well as a breath test or blood test that was used to determine the driver’s blood alcohol concentration. A simple mistake or rights violation by law enforcement may result in evidence being suppressed and a better outcome for your case.

Penalties for a Third DUI Offense

Specific penalties for a third DUI offense will vary depending upon the particular case and jurisdiction.

Following are some general penalties which may be enforced:

  • Fines and court fees totaling up to $2,800
  • Community service
  • Driver’s license suspension of up to 3 years
  • Probation, between 1 to 5 years
  • 18 month of alcohol education classes
  • Minimum jail sentence of 120 days up to a year, depending upon the jurisdiction
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device

If you are facing a third, fourth, or subsequent DUI in Orange County, it is imperative that you retain defense representation from an experienced and skilled DUI attorney. You cannot leave your case in the hands of an inexperienced attorney whose efforts will only result in you spending time in jail. Instead, work with a competent attorney who can secure a positive result for your unique case. The Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry is ready to fight your charges aggressively and work hard to resolve your case in the best possible outcome.

How Long Do You Lose Your License For A 3rd DUI? 

In Orange County, you're driver's license is revoked for three years following a 3rd DUI. However, under the concurrent three-year suspension - you may be able to obtain a restricted license after the first 18 months. 

If you wish to obtain a restricted license, there are qualifications. One must complete at least 12 months of an 18 or 30-month alcohol program. The chosen program may depend on which one the court selected. You must also have SR-22 proof of insurance filed, an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle, AND pay a $125 re-issuance fee to the DMV. 

These requirements are strict and could be slightly different depending on your specific case. Contact our Orange County DUI lawyers for a consultation today. 

Contact Orange County DUI attorney Virginia L. Landry today if you're facing charges.

Contact Our Office Today

When you're ready to talk, we're ready to listen.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.