If you have been accused of driving under the influence of alcohol while operating a commercial vehicle, you face serious consequences. In California, it is unlawful to drive a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .04% or higher. This limit only applies when a driver is driving a commercial vehicle. The Orange County DUI lawyers at Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. explain what will happen if you get a DUI as a commercial driver.
What Happens If I Get a DUI as a Commercial Driver?
Any form of DUI in California can result in both criminal penalties, such and fines, and jail time. It can also result in a suspension of your driver’s commercial license (CDL). Below we have put together the criminal penalties for getting a DUI as a commercial driver:
- Up to one year in county jail
- Up to $1,000 fines
- Up to 36 months in a court-ordered DUI school
- Commercial driver’s license suspension for up to one year
Getting multiple DUIs as a commercial driver can cost you your commercial license for life. Multiple DUI convictions can also result in heftier penalties. For such reasons, it’s vital to get strong legal representation to protect your rights and reduce or dismiss your charges.
Experienced Orange County DUI Lawyers
If you face DUI charges as a commercial driver, it’s vital to get the legal representation you need as quickly as possible. You only have ten days to file an appeal against your charges. Failing to protect your rights can cost you your career, freedom, and finances. Our Orange County DUI attorneys have years of experience helping those accused of driving under the influence throughout Orange County. Our team is dedicated to providing aggressive and personalized legal counsel to clients.
Get in touch with our team virtually by calling us at (949) 537-2202 or fill out a contact form here.