In California, if you’re convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), you’ll face the possibility of fines, incarceration, DUI probation, Alcohol Anonymous classes, DUI School, and the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID).
In the past, California judges had a lot of discretion when it came to ordering the installation of IIDs, but as a result of Senate Bill 1046, as of January 2019, judges will be losing that discretion. Instead of IIDs being “optional,” judges will be required to order them in all DUI cases, even first DUI offenses.
WHAT IS AN IID?
An IID is a small breathalyzer device that attaches to a vehicle’s ignition. The driver is required to provide an alcohol-free sample before the vehicle can start and the driver must provide breath samples throughout their trip.
As of January 2019, if a California resident is convicted of DUI, he or she will have to install an IID in all vehicles they drive. The question is, who pays for the IID? The state? The DMV? The insurance? Or, does the driver have to pay for it themselves? The costs of a court-ordered IID is the responsibility of the driver.
On average, it costs $70 to $100 a month for a court-ordered IID. The actual costs are determined by:
- The features that the driver is required to have, such as GPS, real-time reporting, or a camera.
- The length of time the IID is installed.
- The IID provider the driver chooses.
If you are convicted of DUI, you will have to pay for the costs of an IID. You can expect to pay for installation, the monthly lease, routine calibrations, and removal of the device.
Are you facing DUI charges in Orange County? Contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to schedule a free case evaluation.