If you were recently arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Orange County and you have a previous DUI conviction on your record, you're not alone. Statistics show that a significant percentage of motorists who've been convicted for DUI are re-arrested and charged with another DUI offense within their lifetime.
Although second and third DUIs are not unusual, multiple DUIs are considered aggravating circumstances by courts and prosecutors. This means that drivers facing second, third, or fourth DUI charges are up against enhanced fines and penalties. In other words, uou will face enhanced penalties if you’re charged with DUI and have a previous DUI conviction on your record, an out of state DUI, or a wet reckless in the previous 10 years.
Note:Wet reckless plea bargains are technically a “priorable offenses” when it comes to DUI. Meaning, each subsequent DUI offense (after a wet reckless) within 10 years counts as a prior DUI for sentencing purposes and leads to enhanced penalties.
Increased penalties for multiple DUIs include:
· Fines and Expenses: Fines and penalties increase for each DUI conviction. Overall, increased penalties will often result in greater costs to convicted individuals, such as the costs of finding transportation due to longer license suspensions.
· DUI Classes: Convicted drivers are required to complete DUI School. With each subsequent offense, the length of these classes increase. For example, a second offense may require an 18-month DUI program, whereas a third or subsequent DUI may require completion of a 30-month program
· Ignition Interlock Device Requirement:While IIDs are not necessarily required for first-time DUI offenders in Orange County, they are typically ordered for repeat DUI cases – and at the driver’s expense.
· License Suspension: The length of a license suspension can increase if you have previous DUI convictions on your record, although circumstances may vary.
· Terms of Imprisonment: Each new DUI within a 10-year period may subject convicted drivers to longer terms of imprisonment. Upon a fourth DUI in 10 years – a felony in California – drivers may also face incarceration in a state prison.
If you or someone you know is charged with a second, third, fourth, or subsequent DUI, experienced representation is crucial to defending against elevated penalties.
To learn more about multiple DUI and how an Orange County DUI attorney from the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. can help, call (949) 537-2202.