Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or a combination of the two is a serious problem. Unfortunately, there’s a lot about drunk and drugged driving that most licensed drivers simply don’t know, including the legal consequences of a DUI conviction. If more people were educated about how alcohol and drugs affect safe driving and people’s futures, we’d probably have less impaired drivers on the roads.
Whether you’re facing driving under the influence (DUI) charges or are simply getting educated about DUI, here are eight things that you probably don’t know about DUI.
1. A California DUI is a wobbler. In California, DUI is a wobbler, which means it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the suspect’s criminal record and the seriousness of the offense. For example, if a driver causes serious bodily injury or death to another person as a result of drunk driving, the offender will likely face felony DUI charges.
2. DUI shows up on background checks. Since a DUI is a crime, it will show up on background checks indefinitely. Because of this, a DUI can affect employment opportunities for many years to come.
3. A DUI can bar you from travelling to Canada. Canada frowns heavily upon DUI convictions, even misdemeanor convictions. If you are planning to travel to Canada for work, to visit family, or for pleasure and you have a recent DUI, you could be barred from entering the country for ten years.
4. A DUI can cost you a professional license. If you are convicted of DUI, it can lead to the denial or cancellation of a professional license.
5. A DUI will cost you the Good Driver Discount. If you are convicted of DUI in California, you will not be eligible for the Good Driver Discount for 10 years.
6. A DUI is reported on your DMV record for 10 years. Under California law, a DUI is reported on a driving record for 10 years. On the other hand, a DUI is reported on your criminal record indefinitely.
7. You must maintain an SR-22 for three years. An SR-22 is a certificate of insurance proving that you are maintaining the state’s minimum liability insurance. You obtain it from your auto insurance carrier. After a DUI conviction, you must maintain an SR-22 for three years.
8. You must complete a DUI program. If you’re convicted of DUI, you must successfully complete a DUI program. In California, there are four DUI programs: 1) Wet Reckless, 2) First Offender, 3) 18-Month, and 4) 30-Month Multiple Offender.
The eight facts about DUI on this list are only the beginning. If you’re facing DUI charges in Orange County, contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. for a free case evaluation. We would be glad to answer your questions and ensure you are fully informed on California’s DUI laws and the consequences of a conviction.