Orange County's DUI Queen
Our DUI Blog Stay Current With DUI Related News

California DUI Facts

According to the United States Census Bureau, California was home to an estimated 39,250,017 people in 2016 – that’s a lot of people that have the potential to be drunk driving. In 2012, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reports that 1.8% of California adults admitted to driving after “drinking too much” within the previous 30 days. However, the national average is 1.9%, so California is right on track with the rest of the country.

In California and the rest of the nation, it’s illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. A person however, can be arrested and charged with DUI regardless of their BAC if the state can show that the driver’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely was impaired by drugs or alcohol, or a combination of both.

Drunk driving facts from the CDC:

  • Under the law, if a driver has a BAC of 0.08% or more, they are considered to be “alcohol-impaired.”
  • Approximately one in three traffic fatalities in the United States are alcohol-related.
  • In 2010, millions of people got behind the wheel drunk.
  • In California, DUI checkpoints are permitted.
  • Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) have proven highly effective at deterring people from drinking and driving.
  • School-based educational programs have been effective at teaching teenagers not to ride in a car with a friend who is drunk.

The above are some basic facts about DUI. Now, let’s take a look at the penalties for a simple, first-time DUI in Orange County. If a person pleads guilty to DUI or is convicted in court, he or she faces driver’s license suspension, probation, DUI School, fines and court fees up to $1,500, and up to six (6) months in county jail. But, the consequences don’t stop there.

A DUI conviction stays on one’s criminal record indefinitely. It leads to skyrocketing insurance premiums, and it can affect college scholarships, college admissions, and professional licenses. For many, a criminal conviction, even if it’s for a DUI, will cause them to have trouble finding employment, apartments and rental homes. In light of the above, it is definitely worth it to fight your DUI charges!

For a hard-hitting DUI defense in Orange County, contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. for a free case evaluation!