DUI and Driving Record
If you were convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), you learned that one of the most expensive consequences of a DUI is how it affects auto insurance premiums. If you were recently arrested for DUI in Orange County, we’re confident you’re going to want to know how long a DUI conviction would show up on your DMV record, and we are happy to oblige.
If you need DUI defense, request a free consultaiton with Virginia Landry!
How Long Does DUI Stay on Your Record?
Any DUI offense on one’s driving record will appear for 10 years from the date of the violation, no exceptions. Meaning, the 10-year reporting period applies to all drivers, regardless if they maintain a spotless record after the DUI conviction.
Prior to January 1, 2007, DUIs were only reported for 7 years, but thanks to the new provisions of the Insurance Code established by Senate Bill 597 (2005), if a driver has a DUI violation in the last 10 years, he or she cannot receive the “good driver discount.”
Is the 10-Year-Law Retroactive?
In a way, yes. Let’s say someone was arrested for DUI in December of 2006, and it no longer appeared on their driving record. They’re all good, right? Sorry, but that’s not the case. Under the new law, the 2006 DUI would pop back up on the person’s driving record, where it would show until December of 2016, 10 years from the violation date. For any DUI violation that is at least 10 years old, it will not reappear on a person’s driving record.
When Does DUI Drop Off Record?
Once your DUI is 10 years old, it will be automatically removed from your driving record. You don’t have to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and fill out any applications to have it taken off your driving record. This is what you need to remember: Under state law, any DUI violations under the California Vehicle Code sections 23140, 23152, or 23153 are reported for 10 years. However, a “wet reckless” under 23103.5 will show on a public driving record for only 7 years, but it will be reported to the courts and law enforcement for 10 years.
Keep in mind that while a wet reckless is reported for 7 years on a driving record, it does count against a person for the purpose of increased penalties handed down to repeat DUI offenders. Of course, the best way to avoid having a DUI on your driving record is to avoid a conviction in the first place.
Call the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to work with an Orange County DUI lawyer who is Board Certified in DUI defense!