Orange County's DUI Queen
Our DUI Blog Stay Current With DUI Related News

Penalties for a First DUI in Orange County

Were you recently arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Orange County, California? If so, you are going to want to learn about the penalties involved in a DUI conviction. Before we continue, we want you to know that like any other criminal charge, DUIs can be fought and won.

So, whatever you do, don’t automatically assume that you’ll be convicted because you were arrested for DUI. There are many DUI defenses that work. Not only that, but law enforcement and the legal system are not infallible, police officers and prosecutors can make mistakes. That said, here are the penalties typically involved in a simple first DUI without any aggravating factors:

First DUI Penalties

  • DUI School for 3 to 6 months
  • Up to 4-month driver’s license suspension
  • DUI probation for 1 to 5 years
  • MADD victim impact panel
  • Community service
  • Up to $1,500 in fines
  • Up to 6 months in jail

In addition to the above penalties, if you are convicted (found guilty) of DUI in California under Vehicle Code Section 23152, 23153, or 23154, you will face other serious consequences, including but not limited to:

  • Your auto insurance will skyrocket for several years
  • The DUI will stay on your DMV record for 10 years
  • The DUI will stay on your criminal record indefinitely
  • The DUI can have a huge impact on your career
  • If you are in a child custody battle, the recent DUI will be a problem
  • A DUI can bar you from travelling to certain countries
  • If you are studying for a degree or a professional license, the DUI can prevent you from realizing your educational dreams
  • Depending on your current employment, a DUI can lead to a dismissal under California’s “at-will” employment laws
  • If it’s a drug-related DUI and you’re an immigrant, it can trigger deportation proceedings

What if I am granted probation?

In the event that the court grants probation for a DUI offender after their first DUI conviction, the individual must pay up to $1,500. The court may also decide that the DUI offender must serve at least 48 hours in jail (this does not always happen).

In some instances, drivers who have been convicted of their first DUI may be granted a restricted driver's license that allows them to drive during specific hours and to specific places. However, the court could decide to forbid this. Other conditions of probation typically include DUI School and community service.

If you are facing DUI charges in Orange County, we urge you to contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to schedule a free consultation. Our lead attorney is board certified in DUI defense and a proud member of the National College for DUI Defense. Call now to see how we can help you!