Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License After a DUI
You could face arrest, vehicle impoundment, and possibly requirement of an ignition interlock device (IID). Under VC Section 14601.2, driving on a suspended or revoked license after a DUI is punishable by:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to $1,000 fine
- Possibly probation in lieu of jail
Caught Driving on a Suspended License?
If this was your first offense and there weren’t any aggravating factors, your driver’s license was probably suspended for 4 months, and you were likely put on DUI probation.
As all Southern Californians know, it’s virtually impossible to get around without a vehicle. We don’t have the best public transportation system and taxi cabs can get quite expensive.
With the above in mind, it’s no wonder why so many DUI offenders take a risk and drive on a suspended license after a DUI conviction. However, we can assure you the authorities are well-aware of the fact that people drive on suspended licenses.
In fact, task forces have even been set up at the Harbor Justice Center (Newport Beach) to catch people drive on suspended licenses after leaving the court house! So, the million dollar question is: What happens if you do decide to get behind the wheel and you’re caught?
If you aren’t fortunate and the officer doesn’t let you off with a warning, you could be facing serious repercussions. These days, law enforcement has gotten very tough on people who drive on a suspended license, especially with DUI suspensions.
What if it Was Your ‘Lucky’ Day?
When it comes to being pulled over, once in a while an officer gives the driver a break, but that’s the exception, not the norm. Let’s say an officer pulls you over for a traffic violation and discovers that you’re driving on a suspended license for a DUI.
The officer gets a call, rushes back to your car and says, “This is your lucky day.” Then, he speeds off to attend to more important business. You dodged the bullet; your car could have been impounded and you could have been arrested on the spot.
Our advice – contact an Orange County DUI attorney from our office to discuss what needs to be done to either get a restricted license or get it back to full status. Meanwhile, don’t drive because you’re taking too big of a risk.
Call the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to talk to a board certified DUI defense specialist!