Orange County's DUI Queen
Our DUI Blog Stay Current With DUI Related News

What You Need to Know About Multiple DUI

If you were recently arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Orange County and you have a previous DUI conviction on your record, you're not alone.

Statistics show that a significant percentage of motorists who've been convicted for DUI are arrested and charged for another DUI offense.

Although it is not uncommon, multiple DUIs are considered aggravating circumstances by courts and prosecutors. This means that drivers facing second, third, or fourth DUI charges are up against enhanced fines and penalties.

You face enhanced penalties if you are charged with DUI and have a previous DUI conviction on your record, an out of state DUI, or a wet reckless in the previous 10 years.

For the record: wet reckless convictions are technically “priorable offenses” when it comes to DUI. Each subsequent offense within the 10 year period results in enhanced penalties.

Increased penalties for multiple DUI convictions include:

  • Fines and Expenses: Fines and penalties increase for each DUI conviction. Overall, more intensified penalties will often result in greater costs to convicted individuals, such as the costs of finding transportation due to longer license suspensions.
  • DUI Classes: Most convicted drivers are required to complete DUI classes or treatment programs. With each subsequent offense, the length of these classes – and their cost – may increase. For example, a second offense may require an 18 month DUI program and a third or subsequent offense may require completion of a 30 month program
  • License Suspension: The length of a license suspension can increase if you have previous DUI convictions on your record, although circumstances may vary.
  • Terms of Imprisonment: Each new DUI conviction within a 10 year period may subject convicted drivers to longer terms of imprisonment. Upon a fourth DUI conviction in 10 years – a felony in California – drivers may also face incarceration in a state prison.

If you or someone you know is being charged for a second, third, fourth, or subsequent DUI, experienced representation is crucial to defending against elevated penalties.

To learn more about these charges, the penalties at stake, and how an Orange County DUI attorney from the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. can help, call (949) 537-2202.