Anyone convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in California must attend mandatory alcohol rehabilitation classes, often referred to as "DUI School." The length of time DUI School lasts depends on the facts of the case and any prior history of DUI convictions on your record.
DUI offenders have up to 21 days from the date of sentencing to enroll in these classes, or they could face additional penalties. If you were recently convicted of DUI in Orange County or anywhere else in California, here's what you need to know about DUI School:
- Your DUI School Must Be Licensed – In order for attendance to count toward fulfilling your sentence, the DUI School you choose must be licensed by the state.
- You Must Show Court Records To Be Enrolled – Most DUI schools in California will not accept your enrollment unless you have a court order, or you can provide a suspension notice from the Department of Motor Vehicles.
- DUI Schools Aren't One Size Fits All – California has different types of DUI schools to fit the offender's status. In Orange County alone, there are programs for first-time DUI offenders, second offenders, third-time offenders etc.
- You Have to Pay for DUI School – People convicted of DUI must pay for their own DUI School, which at minimum will be around $200, but many month-long or longer programs rack up in the thousands of dollars range. If you can't afford DUI School, the court may be able to offer payment plans.
- You Must Successfully Complete DUI School – People who do not successfully complete their mandatory DUI courses will have their licenses revoked by the DMV. DUI School is also usually a term of probation, so failure to complete this course can be charged as a probation violation.
There Are Four DUI Programs in California
In California, there are four DUI programs, and they include: 1) the wet reckless program, 2) the first offender program, 3) the 18-month program, and 4) the 30-month program. To learn more about the four DUI programs, click here.
DUI School can be expensive, time-consuming, and embarrassing. If you have been arrested for DUI but not yet convicted, it may still be possible to avoid a conviction and penalties like DUI School. Talk to an Orange County DUI attorney at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. for more information.