Orange County's DUI Queen
Our DUI Blog Stay Current With DUI Related News

After Crash, Brea Man Kicks Driver Who Was Thrown From Vehicle

On Wednesday, an early-morning crash led to one of the drivers kicking the other driver in the head as he was on the ground after being ejected from a pickup truck, police said.

G. Martin, 18, of Brea was driving westbound on Imperial Highway near South Flower Avenue with a female passenger just before 2:30 a.m. That’s when a 22-year-old driver suddenly pulled in front of Martin from a nearby street, according to police Lt. Darrin Devereux.

The 22-year-old Santa Ana man was driving a 1996 Dodge pickup, and Martin was driving a 1998 Ford Explorer SUV. When the Dodge pulled in front of the Ford, Martin’s SUV collided with the Dodge and the driver of the pickup was thrown from the vehicle.

Upset about the accident, Martin got out of the Explorer and headed towards the driver of the Dodge. Martin began kicking the unidentified 22-year-old man as he was on the ground, according to the police.

As Martin continued assaulting the driver, a Good Samaritan stopped his vehicle, jumped out and began pepper-spraying Martin in the face to get him to stop the attack.

Police soon arrived to the scene and arrested Martin on suspicion of assault with a deadly weapon, a common charge for a person who kicks someone else during a fight, and driving under the influence of alcohol.

Initially, investigators blamed the 22-year-old man for the crash. He was transported to a local hospital. Though he complained of pain, authorities expect him to survive his injuries.

Authorities said that Martin and his female passenger were not injured.

What penalties does the Brea man face?

While the penalties for the Brea man will depend on his criminal record, for example, if he has any prior DUIs, and if there are any aggravating factors such as a high breath alcohol concentration (BAC), he could be facing up to $1,500 in fines, up to 6 months in jail, and a 4 month driver’s license suspension for the DUI.

If he’s convicted of assault with a deadly weapon under Sec. 245(a)(1) of the California Penal Code, he faces up to four years in the state prison, or up to a $10,000 fine, or both.

Arrested on DUI charges in Orange County? Contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to work with a Board Certified DUI defense specialist. Call now for your free consultation.