Orange County's DUI Queen
Our DUI Blog Stay Current With DUI Related News

Getting a DUI Charge Reduced to a "Wet Reckless"

If you were recently arrested for your first DUI offense, you are likely worried about getting convicted of DUI, and reasonably so. Even if the cards are stacked against you, we want you to know that just because you were arrested for DUI, it does not necessarily mean that you will be convicted of that specific charge.

As an Orange County DUI defense firm, our goal is obviously to get your charges dismissed. However, sometimes successfully fighting a DUI case means securing a reduced charge with a reduced sentence for our client, especially when our client did make a mistake.

DUI Plea Bargaining

If you are facing criminal charges due to a violation of Vehicle Code 23152(a) or Vehicle Code Vehicle Code 23152(b) – driving with a BAC of .08% or greater – the goal of negotiations may be to get your charges reduced to a California “wet reckless.”

What is a “wet reckless?” It is basically the first DUI reduction that the prosecution will offer. Unlike a DUI, you cannot be arrested for a wet reckless, instead it is a charge that is only achievable through a plea bargained settlement in lieu of a DUI.

Advantages of a wet reckless vs. a DUI:

  • It looks better on your record.
  • It does not trigger a court-imposed license suspension.
  • The mandatory DUI penalties don’t apply.

While it is preferable to not have any conviction on your record at all, if you there is overwhelming evidence that makes a DUI conviction highly probable, it is definitely preferable to plead to a wet reckless than a DUI.

With a wet reckless, there is a shorter probation period, and you may not have to attend DUI school, which can range from 3 to 9 months for a first offense. But if you do have to go, it will be for a shorter period of time.

If this is your second or third DUI, then you will reap even greater benefits since the penalties for a second or subsequent DUI get progressively worse.

The downside to a wet reckless is that in the eyes of the law, it is considered a “priorable DUI.” This means that if you are convicted of wet reckless, and you are convicted of another DUI in the next 10 years, then it will be treated as a second DUI offense, even though your previous DUI was reduced to a wet reckless.

Interested in learning more about the advantages of pleading down to a California wet reckless? Contact an Orange County DUI lawyer from the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. today!