Alcohol Rehabilitation for DUI Offenders

One of the probation conditions that DUI offenders face is mandatory attendance at a certified alcohol rehabilitation center. The required hours of alcohol rehabilitation differ by the type and nature of the DUI offense. It is not mandatory for the judge to require alcohol rehab as a condition of probation for a first-time DUI offender whose offense did not involve aggravating factors (extreme BAC, child passenger, collision, etc.). However, first-time offenders whose BAC was tested at or above .20 percent will have to attend mandatory alcohol rehab.

According to V C Section 23538,

The court shall refer a first offender whose blood–alcohol concentration was less than 0.20 percent, by weight, to participate for three months or longer, as ordered by the court, in a licensed program that consists of at least 30 hours of program activities, including those education, group counseling, and individual interview sessions

According to § 23540 of the California Vehicle Code, second-time DUI offenders (whose most recent offense took place within ten years of the first) will be required to attend 18-30 months of a driving under the influence program. To learn more about the conditions of DUI probation, visit the California Vehicle Code § 23552.

Why Rehabilitation?

The state of California implements alcohol rehabilitation for DUI offenders in order to reduce recidivism. The state believes that requiring rehabilitation as part of a DUI offender's probation gets to the root of the problem. Effective alcohol rehabilitation will prevent a DUI offender from driving drunk in the future. For many, a DUI sentence will carry other penalties as well, such as fines, ignition interlock device (IID) installation and even jail time. Rehabilitation can be required in lieu of jail time or in addition to other DUI penalties.

Orange County Alcohol Rehab Centers

There are many alcohol rehab centers in Orange County, such as Cornerstone of Southern California in Tustin, Sober Living by the Sea in Newport Beach, and Orange County Detox, Inc. in Costa Mesa. The DUI Program in California is managed by the Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs' (ADP) Office of Criminal Justice Collaboration. The department is responsible for licensing and monitoring all alcohol rehabilitation centers nationwide.

There are four main programs offered by all alcohol rehabilitation centers licensed to administer the DUI program:

  1. Wet Reckless Program
  2. First Offender Program
  3. 18-Month Program
  4. 30-Month Program

Each program corresponds to a different type of DUI conviction in the state of California.

If you have been arrested for drunk driving and you're facing the possibility of penalties/probation involving alcohol rehabilitation, discuss your case with Orange County DUI Attorney Virginia L. Landry.

Related Posts
  • How Will a DUI Impact Your Insurance Rates? Read More
  • Ultimate Guide to DUI Court Procedures Read More
  • 4 Types of DUI Charges Read More