Every state takes DUIs seriously, but there are some states that enforce DUI convictions with more veracity than others do. For example, if you live in New York, then you may end up with a very harsh penalty for driving under the influence. First time offenders in this state can be jailed for up to a year and drivers also get their licenses suspended for at least six months. In addition, New York abides by Leandra’s Law, which was passed in 2009. This law declares that if a person is driving over the legal limit and has a child under the age of 16 in his or her car, then they are charged with an automatic felony. The conviction can lead to four years in prison.
In Florida, DUI offenders are required to have an ignition interlock device placed on their car whether or not they are being charged with their first DUI. As well, this state issues a felony to any person has had three DUIs in the past 10 years. In Georgia, jail time for a DUI is often liberal and severe. A person who commits a first-time DUI could end up behind bars for a year. In Arizona, your pocketbook will pay for your DUI. In addition to your sentenced fines, Arizona citizens have to pay surcharge fees that amount to hundreds of dollars and pay out the expenses to have an ignition interlock device installed on their car. IN Washington, DUI offenders are always sentenced a minimum fine of $800.
This can soar up to $5,000 depending on the case, and that’s only for a first-time DUI. Thankfully, California’s penalties aren’t always as stringent as these ones are. If you are charged with a DUI in California, you will want to have a DUI lawyer working on your case as soon as possible. At our law offices, we are dedicated to working through your DUI and lessening or eradicating your sentence. Talk to us today!