Orange County's DUI Queen
Our DUI Blog Stay Current With DUI Related News

Michigan Passes "Super Drunk" Laws

In the state of Michigan, it has to reported that "super drunk" driving laws will be imposed. The new laws will involve stiffer penalties and monetary fine for even first-time DUI offenders.

At this time, a driver is considered impaired in Michigan if he or she has a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher.  However, as of October 31st, if a tribe or has a blood alcohol level that is .17% or higher, he or she will be categorized as "super drunk".  Once this happens, fines will be doubled, even for people who have committed the DUI for the first time.  Additionally, instead of the 93 days of jail time, the penalty will increase to 180 days.  Finally, fines will go up from $500 all the way to $8000 and DUI offenders will face one year driver's license suspension versus the usual six months.

It seems that more states are adopting stricter DUI laws.  If you have been charged with driving under the influence, contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry to get advice from an Orange County DUI lawyer.