A set of new vehicle laws took effect this month, affecting motorists across the state. Some of the new laws include:
- The cost to renew or get a new driver's license increased from $28 to $31
- Cities and counties can choose to adopt laws that state if a person uses a vehicle for illegal dumping or to pick up a prostitute, that person's vehicle may be impounded for up to 30 days, if that person has been convicted of the same offense within the last three years.
- People can now have TV screens in the front-seat area of a vehicle, as long as the driver cannot view the screens.
- In accordance with the Move Over law, when drivers approach a stationary emergency vehicle or a tow truck with its siren or emergency lights activated, the driver must proceed with caution and move into an available lane not immediately adjacent to the emergency vehicle or tow truck. If moving into a new lane is not safe, practicable, or legal, the driver must slow to a reasonable speed that is safe for existing conditions. Motorists must also move over for California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) vehicles as well.
Effective July 1, 2010:
Drivers convicted of DUI in Alameda, Los Angeles, Sacramento, and Tulare Counties will be required to install an ignition interlock device in every vehicle they own or operate if they wish to keep their driver's license. The amount of time drivers are required to keep the device in their vehicle will depend on how many DUI convictions they have on their record. This is a pilot program, which means if the program proves to be effective in reducing the repeat DUI rate, then the state is likely to make it a law in all California counties.
If you have a question about any of the new motor vehicle laws and how they apply to you, please do not hesitate to contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry to speak with an experienced Orange County DUI attorney today!