Orange County's DUI Queen
Our DUI Blog Stay Current With DUI Related News

License Suspension and Chemical Test Refusals

There is much confusion as to whether or not a driver should submit to a chemical test when suspected of DUI. On the one hand, if a driver submits to a chemical test a fails, those test results can be used as evidence against the driver. On the other hand, if the driver refuses to submit to a chemical test, his or her license will be suspended.

Under the implied consent law, all drivers are required to submit to a breath or blood test at the request of an officer. Failing to submit to a chemical test when suspected of driving under the influence will result in a license suspension. The following information, taken from the California DMV website, will give you an idea about how long your license will be suspended if you refuse to submit to a breath or blood test:

  • First offense: 1 year license suspension
  • Second offense within 10 years: 2 year license revocation
  • Third or subsequent offense within 10 years: 3 year license revocation

Experienced Orange County DUI Attorneys

If you are facing a license suspension after refusing or failing a breath or blood test, please contact an Orange County DUI lawyer at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry. Once charged with DUI, the attorneys at the firm can help you take on the prosecuting attorney by building a tough defense and aggressively challenging the evidence. With years of DUI defense experience, the attorneys at the firm understand what is involved in defending someone against DUI charges in Orange County, and are committed to securing the best outcome possible for their clients.

If you are interested in learning more about the defense services offered at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, please contact the office today at (949) 537-2202!