Orange County's DUI Queen
Our DUI Blog Stay Current With DUI Related News

Penalties for a Third or Subsequent DUI

Colorado Governor Bill Ritter and the state legislature are recommending tougher penalties for repeat DUI offenders, as well as mandatory treatment for those convicted of a first-time DUI.

One of the main changes the governor and the legislature are recommending is requiring all people convicted of three or more DUIs to spend at least 60 days in jail and remove the possibility of a work release sentence, at least until they've served 60 days.

How does this penalty compare to the penalties for a 3 rd DUI in California?

In California, if a person is convicted of a third DUI, he or she could face:

  • Anywhere from 4 months to 1 year in county jail
  • Driver's license suspension for up to three years
  • 1 to 5 years probation
  • Mandatory 18 months alcohol education classes
  • Up to $1,500 in fines
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device in the vehicle

Defense Against Multiple DUI Charges

If you are facing a third, fourth, or subsequent DUI in Orange County, it is imperative that you retain defense representation from an experienced and skilled DUI attorney. The Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry has been defending people against DUI charges in Orange County for years, and has handled many cases in which the defendant was facing multiple DUI charges. A third DUI is a very serious offense, and can even lead to felony DUI charges depending on the circumstances of your arrest. You can trust a dedicated Orange County DUI defense lawyer at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry to fight your charges aggressively and work hard to resolve your case in the best possible outcome.

If you are interested in setting up a consultation to discuss your case, please fill out a free case evaluation or contact the office today by calling (949) 537-2202!