Orange County's DUI Queen
Our DUI Blog Stay Current With DUI Related News

DUI With Minors in the Vehicle

New York recently passed a strict new DUI law that makes it a felony offense to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or higher with a minor in the vehicle.  This offense is punishable by four to 25 years in prison, depending on if the minor is consequently injured or killed in an accident.

Although California does not have a similar DUI law, it does have child endangerment laws that can result in similar penalties. While there are various definitions of what child endangerment entails, it is generally defined as any actions that harm or seriously compromise the best interest of a child.  Orange County prosecutors will not hesitate to charge anyone with child endangerment and DUI who drives under the influence with a minor (anyone 16 years old or younger) in the vehicle. 

If you or a family member has been arrested for drunk driving and there was a minor in the vehicle, it is important to consult an experienced Orange County DUI attorney at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry right away. Not only do you stand to face criminal penalties for the DUI charges, but you could also be sentenced to up to six years in prison for child endangerment. 

If you are interested in working with a knowledgeable and aggressive Orange County DUI lawyer at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, please do not hesitate to fill out a free case evaluation or visit our website at www.duiqueen.com .