In California, when people are convicted of
driving under the influence (DUI), they will typically be placed on probation, also known as “DUI
probation.” During this time, the individual may obtain a restricted
license so they can drive to and from work. Once their license suspension
is over for the DUI, they are able to reinstate their driver’s license,
but the DUI probation can continue for years after the
license suspension is lifted.
While on DUI probation, the defendant cannot drink and drive, period. Even
if the DUI defendant was not ordered to install an Ignition Interlock
Device (IID), he or she still cannot consume any amount of alcohol and
Section 23154(a) of the California Vehicle Code it says, “It is unlawful for a person
who is on probation for a violation of Section 23152 or 23153 to operate
a motor vehicle at any time with a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.01
percent or greater.”
No Drinking & Driving on DUI Probation
In California, it’s illegal for drivers age 21 and over to drive
under the influence of alcohol with .08 percent
blood alcohol concentration (BAC). For commercial drivers, that number is just .04 percent. For drivers
under the age of 21 and for
drivers on DUI probation, the threshold is set at just .01 percent. Meaning, they can get in trouble
for driving after having just one alcoholic drink.
Under Section 23154(3) of the Vehicle Code, if a driver is on DUI probation
and a law enforcement officer asks him or her to submit to a chemical
test to determine if they are driving under the influence and the person
fails to submit to such a test as requested, their driver’s license
will be suspended or revoked for
one to three years pursuant to Section 133353.1. In other words, if someone is on DUI probation
and they do not submit to a blood or breath test when asked to, their
license will be automatically suspended or revoked, even if the individual
had no alcohol!
To fight your DUI charges,
contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. today!