If you were recently arrested for
driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs in California, or if you’ve already been
convicted of DUI, you’re probably wondering, “How long is
a DUI conviction reported on my driving record?” After all, this
question enters the minds of most people who are found guilty of DUI.
As of January 1, 2007, DUI offenses are to appear on people’s driving
10 years from the date of the violation itself. So, if you were arrested (and later
convicted) of DUI on May 3, 2017, the DUI would stay on your driving record
printout until May 3, 2027.
DUI and the Good Driver Discount
Under the new law, insurance companies can access people’s driving
records for the purpose of applying the “new provisions” of
the Insurance Code, which was enacted under Senate Bill 597 (2005) to
determine if a customer is eligible for the “Good Driver Discount.”
According to the new law, effective January 1, 2007, all drivers with
a DUI conviction within the past 10 years are not eligible for the Good
Under California Insurance Code Section 1861.025, a Good Driver is one who:
- Has been licensed for at least the past three years, or
- Has had a driver in the United States or Canada for the past 18 months, and
- Has not received more than one point from the Department of Motor Vehicles
in the past three years, and
- The driver has not been convicted of driving under the influence of drugs
or alcohol in the past 10 years.
If you are facing DUI charges, it’s important to understand that
if you’re found guilty of DUI, it will cause your insurance premiums
to skyrocket and you will pay a lot more for insurance for years. Since
a DUI does not drop off on your driving record for 10 years, it’s
going to affect your insurance rates for some time.
In the face of DUI charges, we urge you to
contact our firm to meet with Attorney Landry, Orange County’s DUI Queen for free.
As a proud member of the
National College for DUI Defense, Attorney Landry has the knowledge, skills and experience to defend you!