As a licensed driver in Orange County, California, you’re probably
well-aware of the fact that a conviction for
driving under the influence (DUI) would lead to fines, possible jail time, AA classes,
DUI School, and driver’s
license suspension. Since most Southern Californians need their driver’s license to
get to and from work or school, the license suspension is usually one
of their biggest concerns.
If you are convicted of DUI, how long will your driver’s license
be suspended for? Will you be able to obtain a hardship license or a
restricted license so you can drive to and from work and perform your basic household duties,
such as taking your children to school, and going grocery shopping? Read
on as we answer these common questions.
How Long Will My License Be Suspended For?
If you plead guilty to DUI or if you’re found guilty by the court,
the Department of Motor Vehicles will suspend your driver’s license
for six months. On the other hand, if you’re not convicted of DUI,
the DMV could still suspend your license for four months if:
You are arrested for DUI and your
blood alcohol concentration (BAC) registered at 0.08% or higher, and you fail to request a DMV hearing
within 10 days of your arrest, or
You attend the
DMV hearing, but you lose.
If the DMV decides to suspend your driver’s license for one of the
above reasons – it’s called an “administrative suspension,”
which is different than a court-triggered license suspension. If the DMV
takes this action against your driving privilege, your license will be
suspended for at least four months. Can you apply for a restricted license?
Yes, but you are not eligible to apply for a restricted license until
30 days have passed since the beginning of the license suspension.
Court-Triggered License Suspensions
Suppose you are found guilty of a first-time DUI in court. In that case,
the DMV will suspend your driver’s license for six months under
Vehicle Code 13352(a)(1). If you are convicted of DUI in court, you can
ask for a restricted license right away; you don’t have to wait
the 30-day period. If you are subject to an administrative license suspension
and a court-triggered license suspension, you will have to wait 30 days before
you can ask for a restricted license.
Note: If you had a high BAC, or if you have multiple DUIs, or if you injured
someone else as a result of the DUI incident, the judge may order you
to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) as a condition of your DUI
Need an Orange County DUI lawyer to fight your drug or alcohol-related
Contact our firm for a free DUI defense consultation!