Getting charged with drunk driving undoubtedly brings many severe consequences.
One of the most serious penalties that can impact an individual’s
life is the license suspension, restriction, or revocation that can be issued.
While this may seem minor at first compared to jail time or fines, it can
greatly hinder your ability to get to work or school, run errands, and
carry out other every day activities. Having your driving privileges stripped
from you can be frustrating and challenging, especially when it is for
months or longer.
Although all cases are different, here is a breakdown of what you can expect
First offense: 6 to 10-month suspension
Second offense: 2-year suspension
Third offense: 3-year revocation
Chemical test refusal: Automatic 1-year suspension
Misdemeanor DUI with injury: 1 to 3-year restriction
Felony DUI: 4-year revocation
You may be allowed to convert your suspension into a restricted license,
which allows you to drive to and from your place of employment and other
necessary locations on a limited basis. For example, for a second offense,
your 2-year suspension could be converted into a restricted license after
12 months. Similarly, a third offense license revocation may be converted
after 18 months. In some cases, drivers may also have the option - or
be required to - install an
ignition interlock device on their vehicle as part of the terms of their conviction.
Protect Your Driving Privileges Today
At the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc., our attorneys have successfully
helped clients defend themselves against not only the criminal penalties
of a DUI, but also the driving penalties. Attorney Virginia Landry and
our entire team are skilled in protecting the rights of clients during
DMV hearings, and we’re prepared to see how we can help you.
If you have questions about protecting your driving privileges after a
contact our firm for a free and confidential case evaluation.