"BAC" stands for blood alcohol concentration. This is a term used in
DUI cases to describe whether or not a person was above the legal intoxication limit. Nationwide, the standard limit for drunk driving is .08 percent BAC. This is the percentage based on the ratio of alcohol to blood.
In some states, having a .15 BAC at the time of arrest can warrant an "aggravated DUI" charge that is more severe than a regular DUI. In California, there is not a specific statute for .15 BAC offenders, but the state may impose increased penalties for those who test at or above this level.
If you are arrested for .15% DUI in California, you may have your license suspended for 10 months with the possibility of a restricted license after one month on the condition that you complete an alcohol education program.
Another strong possibility for .15% DUI offenders in this state is the ignition interlock device (IID). About five years ago, the state could not charge a person with aggravated DUI and require an IID unless the individual's BAC was at or above .20%. Now, that limit is reduced to .15%.
An ignition interlock device is something that is installed in your vehicle (all vehicles you own/drive regularly). The IID does not allow you to start your vehicle until you blow into the breath testing device. If the device detects any alcohol content, then you will not be able to start the vehicle. DUI offenders who are required to install the IID must pay for the device itself, calibration and monitoring.
To learn more about the possible penalties you face after a .15% BAC drunk driving arrest, please do not hesitate to contact an Orange County DUI attorney at The Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry. We will provide you with a free and completely confidential case evaluation.