Colorado Governor Bill Ritter and the state legislature are recommending
tougher penalties for repeat DUI offenders, as well as mandatory treatment
for those convicted of a first-time DUI.
One of the main changes the governor and the legislature are recommending
is requiring all people convicted of three or more DUIs to spend at least
60 days in jail and remove the possibility of a work release sentence,
at least until they've served 60 days.
How does this penalty compare to the penalties for a 3
rd DUI in California?
In California, if a person is convicted of a third DUI, he or she could face:
- Anywhere from 4 months to 1 year in county jail
- Driver's license suspension for up to three years
- 1 to 5 years probation
- Mandatory 18 months alcohol education classes
- Up to $1,500 in fines
- Installation of an ignition interlock device in the vehicle
Defense Against Multiple DUI Charges
If you are facing a third, fourth, or subsequent DUI in
Orange County, it is imperative that you retain defense representation from an experienced
DUI attorney. The Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry has been defending people against
DUI charges in Orange County for years, and has handled many cases in
which the defendant was facing
multiple DUI charges. A
third DUI is a very serious offense, and can even lead to
felony DUI charges depending on the circumstances of your arrest. You can trust a
Orange County DUI defense lawyer at the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry to fight your charges aggressively
and work hard to resolve your case in the best possible outcome.
If you are interested in setting up a consultation to discuss your case,
please fill out a
free case evaluation or
contact the office today by calling