Orange County DMV Hearing Lawyer
Once a person is arrested for DUI in Orange County, his/her driver’s
license will be confiscated by law enforcement, and he/she will be given
a temporary driver’s permit. This permit will allow the person to
drive for up to 30 days. After the 30 day period, the person’s driving
privileges will automatically be suspended. To avoid suspension, the person
must schedule a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within
10 days of his/her arrest to contest the suspension of his/her driver’s license.
DUI Lawyer Representing Clients at DMV Hearings
After the person has scheduled his/her hearing with the California Department
of Motor Vehicles, he/she will be issued a time and date in which he/she
must appear at his/her local DMV. During the
DMV Hearing, a DMV representative will meet with the person in a designated room.
The DMV representative has dual roles. First, the DMV representative serves
as a prosecutor. This means that the representative will present evidence
against the person and argue why the person should not have his/her driving
privileges reinstated. Second, the DMV representative will serve as a
judge, meaning the representative will make a final ruling after carefully
reviewing the case facts and evidence.
If the DMV representative finds that the person is guilty, the person will
lose his/her driving privileges for a set period of time. However, if
the DMV representative finds that the person is not guilty, the person’s
driving privileges will be reinstated.
Often times, people choose to defend themselves during their DMV Hearings.
This is usually not the best idea as most people are not equipped with
the training and knowledge it takes to successfully plead their case.
In these cases, it is always beneficial to retain the services of a reliable
DUI Defense Attorney. A DUI defense lawyer could defend a person during his/her DMV
Hearing, challenge evidence, question the arresting officer’s testimony,
and also help to person obtain a hardship license.
Orange County & Irvine DMV Hearing Attorney
If you have been charged with DUI in Orange County or Irvine, you need
to consult with a skilled DUI defense attorney immediately.
You only have 10 days to request a DMV Hearing in Orange County! The Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry has been representing clients charged
with DUI in Orange County and Irvine for many years.
Contact the firm today if you would like to learn more. Through a free consultation with the
firm, you could learn exactly what a DUI attorney could do for you.