According to the
United States Census Bureau, California was home to an estimated 39,250,017 people in 2016 –
that’s a lot of people that have the potential to be drunk driving.
In 2012, the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reports that 1.8% of California adults admitted to driving after “drinking
too much” within the previous 30 days. However, the national average
is 1.9%, so California is right on track with the rest of the country.
In California and the rest of the nation, it’s illegal to drive with a
blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. A person however, can be arrested and charged with
DUI regardless of their BAC if the state can show that the driver’s ability
to operate a motor vehicle safely was impaired by drugs or alcohol, or
a combination of both.
Drunk driving facts from the CDC:
- Under the law, if a driver has a BAC of 0.08% or more, they are considered
to be “alcohol-impaired.”
- Approximately one in three traffic fatalities in the United States are
- In 2010, millions of people got behind the wheel drunk.
- In California, DUI checkpoints are permitted.
- Ignition Interlock Devices (IIDs) have proven highly effective at deterring
people from drinking and driving.
- School-based educational programs have been effective at teaching teenagers
not to ride in a car with a friend who is drunk.
The above are some basic facts about DUI. Now, let’s take a look at the
penalties for a simple, first-time DUI in Orange County. If a person pleads guilty
to DUI or is convicted in court, he or she faces driver’s license
suspension, probation, DUI School, fines and court fees up to $1,500,
and up to six (6) months in county jail. But, the consequences don’t
A DUI conviction stays on one’s criminal record indefinitely. It
leads to skyrocketing insurance premiums, and it can affect college scholarships,
college admissions, and professional licenses. For many, a criminal conviction,
even if it’s for a DUI, will cause them to have trouble finding
employment, apartments and rental homes. In light of the above, it is
definitely worth it to fight your DUI charges!
For a hard-hitting
DUI defense in Orange County,
contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. for a free case evaluation!