If you were convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), you learned
that one of the most expensive consequences of a DUI is how it affects
auto insurance premiums. If you were recently arrested for DUI in Orange County, we’re
confident you’re going to want to know
how long a DUI conviction would show up on your DMV record, and we are happy to oblige.
As of January 1, 2007, any
DUI offense on one’s driving record will appear for
10 years from the date of the violation, no exceptions. Meaning, the
10-year reporting period applies to all drivers, regardless if they maintain a spotless record
after the DUI conviction.
You see, prior to January 1, 2007, DUIs were only reported for 7 years,
but thanks to the new provisions of the Insurance Code established by
Senate Bill 597 (2005), if a driver has a DUI violation in the last 10
years, he or she cannot receive the “good driver discount.”
Is the 10-Year-Law Retroactive?
In a way, yes. Let’s say someone was arrested for DUI in December
of 2006, and it no longer appeared on their driving record. They’re
all good, right? Sorry, but that’s not the case. Under the new law,
the 2006 DUI would pop back up on the person’s driving record, where
it would show until December of 2016, 10 years from the violation date.
For any DUI violation that is at least 10 years old, it will not reappear
on a person’s driving record.
DUIs Automatically Drop Off Driving Records
Once your DUI is 10 years old, it will be automatically removed from your
driving record. You don’t have to go to the Department of Motor
Vehicles (DMV) and fill out any applications to have it taken off your
driving record. This is what you need to remember: Under state law, any
DUI violations under the California Vehicle Code sections 23140, 23152,
or 23153 are
reported for 10 years. However, a “wet reckless” under 23103.5 will show on a public
driving record for
only 7 years, but it will be reported to the courts and law enforcement for 10 years.
Keep in mind that while a wet reckless is reported for 7 years on a driving
record, it does count against a person for the purpose of increased penalties
handed down to repeat DUI offenders. Of course, the best way to avoid
having a DUI on your driving record is to avoid a conviction in the first place.
Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to work with an Orange County DUI lawyer who is Board Certified in DUI defense!