Second DUI in Orange County

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Second DUI in Orange County

Were you recently arrested for a second DUI offense in Orange County, California? If so, it’s important that you understand what you’re up against. Assuming no one was injured or killed as a result of your drunk or drugged driving, you should be facing misdemeanor penalties.

In California, most first, second, and third DUIs are prosecuted as misdemeanors, unless the DUI defendant seriously injured or killed another person as a result of the DUI incident. So, if this is your second DUI offense and it did not involve injuring another person, such as your passenger or another driver, you should be charged with a misdemeanor DUI.

California DUIs are Priorable Offenses

California DUIs are considered “priorable offenses.” This means that after a first DUI offense, each subsequent DUI will lead to enhanced penalties. Even if your first DUI was pleaded down to a “wet reckless” it will still count as a prior DUI for sentencing and penalty purposes. The general penalties for a second DUI include:

  • Probation
  • Community service
  • A two-year driver’s license suspension
  • Up to $2,800 in fines and court fees
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirement
  • A minimum jail sentence of 96 hours
  • DUI School for 18 months

When a DUI defendant is placed on probation, they will have to abide by a number of conditions, for example, they cannot drink and drive with any measurable alcohol in their system, and if they are ever pulled over by a police officer and asked to submit to a chemical test, they must take it.

If a probationer violates any of the terms of their probation, the probation can be revoked and the probationer can be sentenced to jail. Common probation violations include failing to complete DUI School, failing to complete the court-ordered community service, and failing to pay all of one’s fines.

Orange County DUI Defense Attorney

If you are facing criminal charges for a second or subsequent DUI offense, we urge you to contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to schedule a free consultation. The sooner you hire experienced legal counsel, the greater your chances of achieving a favorable outcome in your case!

Categories: DUI, DUI Defense, Second DUI
  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. - Orange County DUI Attorney
Located at 23046 Avenida De La Carlota, Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653.
View Map
Phone: (877) 384-7833
Local Phone: (949) 585-7400
Website:
© 2017 All Rights Reserved.

When You're

Ready to talk

Our firm is ready to listen. Call for a FREE case consultation.

Call Toll-Free 877.384.7833
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.