Have you been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in Orange
County? If this was your first offense and there weren’t any aggravating
factors, your driver’s license was probably suspended for 4 months,
and you were likely put on DUI probation.
As all Southern Californians know, it’s virtually impossible to get
around without a vehicle. We don’t have the best public transportation
system and taxi cabs can get quite expensive.
With the above in mind, it’s no wonder why so many DUI offenders
take a risk and drive on a suspended license after a DUI conviction. However,
we can assure you the authorities are well-aware of the fact that people
drive on suspended licenses.
In fact, task forces have even been set up at the Harbor Justice Center
(Newport Beach) to catch people drive on suspended licenses after leaving
the court house! So, the million dollar question is: What happens if you
do decide to get behind the wheel and you’re caught?
If you aren’t fortunate and the officer doesn’t let you off
with a warning, you could be facing serious repercussions. These days,
law enforcement has gotten very tough on people who drive on a
suspended license, especially with DUI suspensions.
Worst Case Scenario
What’s the worst case scenario? The police can arrest you and impound
your vehicle. You can be found in violation of probation, you can be required
to install an ignition interlock device (IID), and you can be fined and
VC Section 14601.2.
Under Sec. 14601.2, driving on a suspended or revoked license after a DUI
is punishable by:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Up to $1,000 fine
- Possibly probation in lieu of jail
What if it Was Your ‘Lucky’ Day?
When it comes to being pulled over, once in a while an officer gives the
driver a break, but that’s the exception, not the norm. Let’s
say an officer pulls you over for a traffic violation and discovers that
you’re driving on a suspended license for a
The officer gets a call, rushes back to your car and says, “This
is your lucky day.” Then, he speeds off to attend to more important
business. You dodged the bullet; your car could have been impounded and
you could have been arrested on the spot.
Our advice – contact an
Orange County DUI attorney from our office to discuss what needs to be done to either get a restricted
license or get it back to full status. Meanwhile, don’t drive because
you’re taking too big of a risk.
Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to talk to a board certified DUI defense specialist!