Will I Go to Jail for a First-Time DUI?

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Will I Go to Jail for a First-Time DUI?

Facing a driving under the influence (DUI) charge is never easy, especially when your job, reputation, and freedom are on the line. If you were pulled over and arrested for your first DUI offense, you probably have a lot of questions. Will I go to jail? Do I need an attorney? What happens now?

These are important questions that need to be answered sooner than later, and a DUI defense lawyer from our firm can help you find the answers, more importantly, we can help you determine exactly what steps you need to take to minimize, if not eliminate the potential risks involved in being convicted of DUI in Orange County.

California Law for First-Time DUI Convictions

In California, DUI is called a "priorable" offense. This means that the judge uses previous offenses to give you a harsher sentence. Since your first DUI does not involve any prior convictions, it is not subject to the same penalties as later offenses. According to California law, the penalties for a first DUI offense (misdemeanor), may be punishable by:

  • Fines
  • AA Classes
  • Up to Six Months in Jail
  • Informal Probation
  • Alcohol Education Program
  • Driver’s License Suspension
  • MAAD Victim Impact Panel
  • Vehicle Impoundment

Please note that a California DUI conviction is reported by the California Department of Motor Vehicles for 10 years following the date of the arrest. During this ten-year-period, you will not be eligible for the “good driver” discount through your insurer. Once the DUI is 10-years-old, the DMV will stop reporting it and you can be eligible for the good driver discount once again.

How to Avoid Jail for a First-Time Drunk Driving Conviction

If you are convicted of DUI, you may be subject to incarceration. Jail time, however, is not mandatory. With the help of a skilled DUI defense lawyer, you can avoid these harsh penalties or a conviction altogether. Depending on the circumstances of your case, a plea bargain may be a viable option for your defense strategy.

To learn more about your legal options after a drunk driving arrest, speak with an Orange County DUI defense attorney from the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. today.

Categories: DUI, DUI Arrests, DUI Defense
  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. - Orange County DUI Attorney
Located at 23046 Avenida De La Carlota, Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653.
View Map
Phone: (877) 384-7833
Local Phone: (949) 585-7400
Website:
© 2017 All Rights Reserved.

When You're

Ready to talk

Our firm is ready to listen. Call for a FREE case consultation.

Call Toll-Free 877.384.7833
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.