If you are convicted of
driving under the influence (DUI) in Orange County, California, you will soon learn that the DUI will
have a direct impact on your auto insurance premiums. Sure, the DUI is
going to lead to a troubling rate hike, but for how long?
For starters, it’s important that you know that as of January 1,
2007, new legislation extended the reporting period for DUIs in California
from 7 years to 10 years. This means that if an insurance company runs
a person’s driving record, they will be able to see the DUI for
10 years. Unfortunately, this means that your auto insurance company can
use your DUI against you for the next decade.
Continue reading as we dig deeper into how a DUI affects your auto insurance premiums.
DUI and Your Car Insurance
Do I have to report my DUI to my insurance company?
You are not legally required to call your auto insurance company and tell
them about your DUI conviction. If you were only arrested for DUI, there
shouldn’t be any insurance consequences. If you hire an attorney,
you may beat your DUI charges, or they may be reduced to wet reckless
through a plea bargain. Or, you may win the
If you are convicted of DUI, your insurance company will eventually find
out about it. Generally, auto insurance companies find out about DUIs
when they run people’s driving record when their policy is up for
a renewal, or when the policyholder is shopping out better rates and applying
for new coverage.
Additionally, insurance companies find out about DUIs because the California
Department of Motor Vehicles requires people to obtain an SR 22, which
is a certificate of insurance proving that the driver meets the state’s
minimum requirements for liability coverage.
Since the only way to obtain an SR 22 is through your auto insurance company,
this is when insurance companies generally find out about it.
What if I’ve been getting the good driver discount?
Let’s say you’ve been getting the good driver discount for
years. Once you have a DUI conviction, you automatically disqualify for
this discount. Under California law, you won’t qualify for the good
driver discount until it’s been 10 years since your
Since you no longer qualify for a good driver discount, this is one of
the reasons your premium will increase by 20 to 30%. In addition to obtaining
the SR 22, you’ll have to pay higher premiums because the DUI conviction
labels you a “high risk” driver, which can increase your yearly
premium up to $800 for each of the three years you’re required to
maintain an SR 22.
Once it’s been 10 years since your DUI arrest, the California DMV
will stop reporting it and it’ll be as if it never happened. Then,
you’ll be eligible for the good driver discount, assuming you’ve
been a “good driver” since your DUI arrest.
Arrested for DUI in Orange County? To protect your future and your insurance rates,
contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to fight your charges!