Can I Get a Restricted License After an Underage DUI?

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Can I Get a Restricted License After an Underage DUI?

If you are under 21 and you were recently arrested for driving under the influence in Orange County, you may be wondering if you can get a restricted driver’s license so you can drive to work and school.

That is a valid question and we will answer it below, but first we want to give you some information about underage DUIs in the United States. According to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC):

  • 1 in 10 high school students drink and drive,
  • Teens between the ages of 16 and 20 are 17 times more likely to die in a car accident when they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% compared to when they have not been drinking, and
  • When high school students age 16 and older were asked, they admitted to driving one or more times in the past 30 days while under the influence of alcohol.

So, what if you are convicted of DUI, can you obtain a restricted license so you can drive to and from work and school?

Unfortunately, you are not eligible for a restricted license if you were under the age of 21 at the time of the DUI arrest and the DMV decides to suspend your license. Why? The laws regarding restricted licenses are stricter for young drivers due to the fact that underage drinking and driving is such a large problem.

Is there any way to keep your driver’s license at all?

If you are under 21, the only way that you would be able to keep your driver’s license is if you were able to prevent the license suspension. In order to do this you would have to:

  • Apply for a DMV hearing within 10 days of your DUI arrest, and
  • Avoid a DUI conviction in court.

To avoid a DUI conviction, you would have to win the DUI case or plead guilty to a lesser charge. A lesser charge could be something such as reckless driving.

If you apply for a DMV hearing in a timely fashion, you can get a “stay” on the license suspension, which means you would be able to continue driving until the DMV hearing concludes, or pending the DUI conviction for a DUI, which would lead to a license suspension.

If you were recently arrested for DUI in Orange County, the best way to avoid a suspended license is to fight and win your DUI case. To get the aggressive defense representation you need and deserve, contact our office to work with Orange County’s “DUI Queen!”

Categories: Restricted License
  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. - Orange County DUI Attorney
Located at 23046 Avenida De La Carlota, Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653.
View Map
Phone: (877) 384-7833
Local Phone: (949) 585-7400
Website:
© 2017 All Rights Reserved.

When You're

Ready to talk

Our firm is ready to listen. Call for a FREE case consultation.

Call Toll-Free 877.384.7833
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.