What to Expect After a California DUI Accident

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

What to Expect After a California DUI Accident

We regularly get calls from people who were involved in an accident that wasn’t their fault, but ended up being charged with driving under the influence. If this happened to you, you’re probably feeling a bit frustrated and confused about now – a perfectly normal reaction!

Often, the at-fault driver ran a red light and hit our client, or our client was rear-ended.

Obviously, in both of these situations the other driver was at-fault, but still, when the police showed up to the scene, our clients gave them some indication that they were under the influence of drugs or alcohol or both, and they were slapped with a DUI charge.

If this happened to you, what's next?

What should I expect if I go to court?

Unfortunately, we cannot give a detailed answer without knowing the details of your case, but we can give you a general idea of what will happen. If you come to our office for a free consultation, we will want to know:

  • Are you 21 or older?
  • Was anyone injured or killed in the accident?
  • Do you have any prior wet reckless or DUI convictions in the past 10 years?

Have you had any previous DUIs in the last 10 years? If so, please be aware that the penalties increase for each subsequent DUI offense, and in California, fourth DUIs are punishable as felonies.

Additionally, you could be facing felony DUI charges if someone else was injured in the car accident.

If you were just arrested for DUI, know that the DMV will automatically suspend your driver’s license if you fail to contact the DMV and request a DMV hearing within 10 days of the arrest.

License suspensions range from 4 months to 1 year depending on a variety of factors, such as your criminal history, your age, and whether you had valid insurance.

If you were arrested for DUI after an accident that was not your fault, you need a good DUI attorney to defend you. With DUI, it doesn’t matter who was at fault for the accident, you can still get charged with DUI, though most DUIs do not involve accidents.

Facing DUI charges after an accident? Contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to work with one of the top DUI defense firms in Orange County!

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. - Orange County DUI Attorney
Located at 23046 Avenida De La Carlota, Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653.
View Map
Phone: (877) 384-7833
Local Phone: (949) 585-7400
Website:
© 2017 All Rights Reserved.

When You're

Ready to talk

Our firm is ready to listen. Call for a FREE case consultation.

Call Toll-Free 877.384.7833
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.