If this is your first arrest for
driving under the influence (DUI), you're probably curious to know what penalties you would face
if you were convicted. The California Vehicle Code Section 23536 lists
out all the possible penalties for a first DUI conviction. The subsequent
section of the Vehicle Code then explains the conditions of a first-time
According to V C Section 23536(a), if a person is convicted of a first
violation of Section 23152, that person shall be punished by:
- Must attend DUI School,
- 4 month driver’s license suspension,
- Imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 96 hours, at least 48
hours of which shall be continuous, nor more than 6 months, and
- Fines up to $1,500.
According to this statute, an individual will also have their driver's
license suspended by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). To learn more about driver's license suspension, see
Section 13550 of the Vehicle Code or contact one of our Orange County DUI lawyers directly.
What if I am granted probation?
In the event that the court grants probation for a DUI offender after their
first DUI conviction, the individual must pay up to $1,500. The court may also decide
that the DUI offender must serve at least 48 hours in jail (this does
not always happen).
In some instances, drivers who have been convicted of their first DUI may
be granted a restricted driver's license that allows them to drive
during specific hours and to specific places. However, the court could
decide to forbid this. Other conditions of probation typically include
DUI School and community service.
Arrested for DUI in Orange County? Get a
Board Certified DUI defense specialist on your side –
call the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. for a