Driving on a Suspended License After DUI

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Driving on a Suspended License After DUI

If you were recently arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Orange County and the Department of Motor Vehicles suspends your driver’s license, it’s absolutely critical that you DO NOT DRIVE while your license is suspended, because driving on a suspended license after a DUI is against the law.

Let’s say you took the chemical test and the results came back at 0.10%. You are over the age of 21, and this is your first DUI offense. Your driver’s license would be suspended for up to four months.

On the other hand, if you are under the age of 21 and you took a preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) test and your results came back .01% or more, then your driver’s license would be suspended for one year.

But, how are you supposed to get to work or to your court-ordered DUI classes? For you to drive legally to and from work, you would have to get a restricted license. In order to obtain a restricted license, you would have to apply for it at a local DMV field office.

If you do not obtain a restricted license and you decide to drive to work anyway and you’re caught, you will face misdemeanor charges for driving on a suspended license under VC 14601.2(a).

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License After DUI

What if you do not have a restricted license and you drive while your license is suspended for DUI? What are the penalties for doing that? Under VC 14601.2(a), it’s illegal to drive while your license is suspended or revoked for DUI if you had knowledge of the suspension or revocation.

The penalties for driving with a suspended license after a DUI, include:

  • 10 days to 6 months in jail
  • A fine from $300 to $1,000

“Knowledge” is a key factor when it comes to VC 14601.2(a). Under VC 14601.2(c), it is conclusively assumed that a DUI defendant had “knowledge” of a driver’s license suspension or revocation if mailed notice was given to the defendant by the department.

If for some reason the individual did not receive mailed notice of the suspension or revocation, and had no knowledge that they weren’t supposed to drive, it may be a valid defense.

If you are facing DUI charges, or if you have further questions about obtaining a restricted license, or driving on a suspended license after a DUI, don’t hesitate to contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to discuss your case for free!

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. - Orange County DUI Attorney
Located at 23046 Avenida De La Carlota, Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653.
View Map
Phone: (877) 384-7833
Local Phone: (949) 585-7400
Website:
© 2017 All Rights Reserved.

When You're

Ready to talk

Our firm is ready to listen. Call for a FREE case consultation.

Call Toll-Free 877.384.7833
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.