DUI and a Restricted Driver License

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

DUI and a Restricted Driver License

If you were arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Orange County and this is your first DUI, you will want to know about the future of your California driver’s license.

Your best plan of action is to contact an experienced DUI attorney from our firm and develop a strong defense strategy, but we are going to explain how a DUI conviction would affect your driving privileges.

How long will my license be suspended? If you did take the chemical test (blood or breath), and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .08% or higher, your driver’s license will be suspended for four months on a first offense. If this is your second or subsequent offense, it will be suspended for at least one year.

Can I obtain a restricted driver license?

If you are convicted of DUI, it would be in your best interests to find out if you are eligible for a restricted driver license. A restricted driver license would allow you to drive to and from work and the DUI program – this way you can still provide for yourself and/or your family while on DUI probation.

Restricted driver licenses are for first offenders ONLY. If you had another DUI offense in the past 10 years, including a charge that was reduced to reckless driving, or if you refused a chemical test, you will not be eligible for a restricted license.

The restricted driver’s license will be valid for five months from the date it is issued. To be eligible for a noncommercial restricted driver’s license, you must meet the following criteria:

  • You will have to enroll in a DUI First Offender Program.
  • The program provider will have to file a Proof of Enrollment Certificate (DL 107) on your behalf.
  • You must file proof of financial responsibility: the California Insurance Proof Certificate SR 22.
  • You will have to pay a $125 reissue fee.
  • You cannot apply for a restricted driver’s license until the 30-day mandatory suspension has passed.

Note: If you enroll in the DUI program, but fail to complete it, your driving privileges will be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a period of four months.

Arrested for DUI in Orange County? Your best defense is to FIGHT your charges. Call our firm to speak with the DUI Queen for free about your case!

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. - Orange County DUI Attorney
Located at 23046 Avenida De La Carlota, Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653.
View Map
Phone: (877) 384-7833
Local Phone: (949) 585-7400
Website:
© 2017 All Rights Reserved.

When You're

Ready to talk

Our firm is ready to listen. Call for a FREE case consultation.

Call Toll-Free 877.384.7833
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.