Were you recently arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Orange
County? If so, we recommend that you fight your
DUI charges in an effort to avoid a conviction or at the very least, minimize
the consequences of a DUI conviction.
Otherwise, if you are found guilty of DUI (convicted), you will face a
series of consequences, such as fines, a driver’s license suspension,
probation, and “DUI School.”
In California, whenever someone is convicted of DUI, or when their DUI
charges are reduced to a “wet reckless,” the defendant must
attend DUI School, otherwise known as one of California’s Driving
Under the Influence (DUI) programs.
California Has Four Basic DUI Programs
There are four basic DUI programs in California, including: 1) the wet
reckless program, 2) the first offender program, 3) the 18-month program,
and 4) the 30-month multiple offender programs.
1. Wet Reckless Program
If you are convicted of reckless driving because you had a measurable
amount of alcohol in your blood, you will have to complete a 12-hour DUI program.
2. First Offender Program
If you are convicted of your first DUI offense, you will have to complete
a DUI program based on your
blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The higher the BAC, the longer the program you have to attend.
The first offender programs are 30, 44, or 60 hours depending on the defendant’s BAC.
3. 18-Month Program
If this is your second or subsequent DUI offense, you will have to complete
an 18-month, multiple offender program. This program includes 12 hours
of drug and alcohol education and 52 hours of group counseling etc.
4. 30-Month Multiple Offender Program
If this is your third or subsequent DUI offense, you may have to complete
a 30-month multiple offender program, which involves 12 hours of drug
and alcohol education, 78 hours of group counseling, and a maximum of
300 hours of community service.
DUI Program Completion is Mandatory
Even if you don’t have a drinking problem, if you are convicted of
DUI you will have to complete one of the above programs. Each program
is designed to teach participants to reconsider their behavior, reduce
or eliminate alcohol use, and support positive lifestyle adjustments.
If you are convicted of DUI, you must complete a court-ordered DUI program
in order to keep or reobtain your California driver’s license. The
best way to get around DUI School is to avoid a conviction in the first place!
Arrested for DUI in Orange County?
Contact our firm to speak with Board Certified DUI defense specialist about your case for
free. Call the DUI Queen today!