If you were recently arrested for driving under the influence in LA or
Orange County, you may be unsure about when exactly your license suspension
starts. A lot of people are confused by the timing of the license suspension
and how their criminal
DUI case impacts their driving privileges.
For our purposes, we’re going to assume that you were arrested for
DUI and at the time of your arrest, your
blood alcohol concentration (BAC) registered at .08% or above. Was your driver’s license suspended
automatically upon arrest? Or, will it be suspended 30 days following
You Were Served the Pink Temporary License
If you were arrested for an alcohol-related DUI for suspicion of a .08%
BAC or higher, you were most likely served with a pink temporary license.
If that’s the case, you were given a notice stating that 30 days
after the date of your arrest, your license will be suspended administratively
for a 4 month period.
The DMV license suspension is separate from the court case. If you do not
request the DMV hearing within 10 days of the arrest and they confiscated
your license, the hard suspension will begin 30 days following the arrest,
whether or not the DA files criminal charges. The hard suspension is independent
of any license suspension related to a criminal court conviction for DUI.
If your California DUI arrest was more than 30 days ago and it was an alcohol-related
DUI with a BAC of .08% or higher and you failed to request a DMV hearing,
your license has probably already been suspended.
If you’re in this predicament, the best thing for you to do is contact
an Orange County DUI attorney from the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry,
Inc. If your license has been suspended already, there are steps that
need to be taken to get a restricted license after the 30 day “hard”
suspension, plus you’ll want to fight your DUI charges.
Board Certified in DUI defense, Attorney Landry is one of OC’s top DUI attorneys. Call now
to schedule your free case evaluation!