DUI Accident, But it Wasn't My Fault

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

DUI Accident, But it Wasn't My Fault

This is something that comes up a lot, and people are curious about it. What if you had a couple of drinks at dinner, hopped in the car and started to drive home, but got into an accident before you made it to your house? Even though the accident wasn’t your fault, can you be arrested and charged with DUI?

The short answer to this question is yes, you can still be charged with DUI even if the accident was not your fault. You see, most of the time with DUI, it doesn’t matter who was at fault. Anyone can get a DUI without an accident, because most DUIs do not involve car accidents.

It Comes Down to the Facts of Your Case

If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .08% or above if you’re 21 or older, or .02% or above if you’re under 21, you can expect to be charged with a DUI. Keep in mind that your case is very fact-sensitive and the outcome depends on several factors, depending on how you answer the following questions:

  • What was your BAC?
  • Are you 21 or older?
  • Do you have any prior DUI convictions in the last 10 years?
  • Was your license suspended or revoked?
  • Was anybody injured or killed?
  • Was there property damage?
  • Did the officer mistakenly believe that you were at fault?
  • Could you be charged with a simple DUI, or felony DUI because someone was seriously injured?

So, now you know that it is entirely possible to be charged with DUI even if the accident was not your fault. Let’s say you are charged with DUI, what types of penalties are you facing?

Unfortunately, it’s impossible to give you a meaningful answer without you giving us more information. After asking you the above questions, we’ll be in a better position to answer that question.

Please keep in mind that the DMV automatically suspends people’s drivers’ licenses if they don’t contact the DMV and request a DMV hearing within 10 days of their arrest. The license suspensions can range from 4 to 12 months, depending on the driver’s age, if they have prior offenses, and if they were insured, etc.

Looking for an Orange County DUI lawyer? Call the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to work with a DUI attorney who is Board Certified in DUI defense!

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. - Orange County DUI Attorney
Located at 23046 Avenida De La Carlota, Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653.
View Map
Phone: (877) 384-7833
Local Phone: (949) 585-7400
Website:
© 2017 All Rights Reserved.

When You're

Ready to talk

Our firm is ready to listen. Call for a FREE case consultation.

Call Toll-Free 877.384.7833
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.