If you are convicted of
wet reckless in California, you’re going to be required to complete a DUI class.
It could be a 3, 6, 9, or 18 month class, and the longer the class, the
more it’s going to cost.
If your California driver’s license is suspended through the DMV
per se procedure, the DMV is going to require that you complete a DUI class.
You attend these classes once a week, which are run by the county.
If you fail to complete DUI school, you could be found in violation of
probation, and you won’t get your driver’s license back from
the Department of Motor Vehicles.
The DUI classes are held throughout Orange County. In California, there
are nearly 500 licensed DUI programs, administered by more than 250 service
These licensed providers offer three basic types of DUI programs: 1) wet
reckless program, 2) the first-time DUI offender program, and 3) the 18
or 30-month multiple offender program. Generally, repeat DUI offenders
are required to complete the 18-month program.
Costs for the DUI programs range from $200 to nearly $3,000 (for the 18-month
program). If you cannot afford the court-ordered DUI program, you may
be entitled to financial relief. Defendants cannot be denied enrollment
in a DUI program because they can’t afford it.
When a DUI class is ordered by the court, you must:
- Show the court proof that you enrolled
- Complete the course by a certain deadline
How do I get to DUI school with a suspended license?
If you’re a first-time offender, you may be eligible for a restricted
driver’s license, which allows you to drive to and from your DUI
classes and work. To get a restricted license, you have to show the DMV
proof that you’re enrolled in a DUI program and proof of financial
If you do not complete the court-ordered DUI school, your restricted license
will be revoked by the DMV and your license suspension or revocation will
be reinstated. Additionally, it’s unlawful to drive on a suspended
license after a DUI or a wet reckless.
So, if you’re caught driving on a suspended license, it will likely
be treated as a probation violation, which could result in a bench warrant
for your arrest and a one way trip to jail.
Contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. for a free case evaluation!