If you are convicted of
DUI in Orange County or anywhere else in California, you will be subjected
to a series of
penalties such as a 4 month driver’s license suspension, up to 5 years’
probation, up to $1,500 in fines and court fees, and lets us not forget
those “mandatory alcohol classes.” What are the mandatory
alcohol classes, and do they include AA meetings?
When you are convicted of DUI in California, you are required to attend
a DUI program. There are three different programs for first time DUI offenders,
- 3 Month First Offender Program
- 6 Month First Offender Program
- 9 Month First Offender Program
Which one will you have to take if you are convicted? The answer depends
upon your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at the time of your arrest.
Basically, the more your BAC at the time of your arrest, the longer the
The 3 month first time DUI program (30.75 hours) is for people with a BAC
between .08% and 0.19%, whereas the 6 and 9 month programs are generally
for people with a BAC of 0.20% or higher.
Session Requirements (3 Month Program)
If you are ordered by the court to complete the 3 month first offender
program (30.75 hours), you are expected to complete the following requirements:
- Attend 10 education and group sessions (3 hours each)
- Submit to three individual interviews (at the beginning, midpoint, and
end of program)
- Attend six Alcohol Anonymous meetings
6 Month Program (45 Hours)
If you are ordered to complete the 6 month first offender program, you
will have to attend six classes that last two hours each; these classes
combine lectures with film.
You will have to attend 15 group sessions, that last two hours each session.
You must submit to 13 individual interviews, and attend 24 Alcoholics
What about the 9 month program? The 9 month first offender program is 60
hours. It consists of six classes, 22 group sessions, 16 individual interviews,
and 36 Alcoholics Anonymous meetings.
If you have been arrested for DUI in Orange County, contact the Law Offices
of Virginia L. Landry for a
free case evaluation. Just because you were arrested, it does not mean that it has to turn
into a conviction – you can fight your charges!