Getting a Drug DUI Reduced to a 'Wet Reckless'

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Getting a Drug DUI Reduced to a 'Wet Reckless'

Californians across the state celebrated on January 1, 2011 when possession of one ounce or less of marijuana became an infraction, punishable by no more than a $100 fine and didn’t incur any jail time. However, when you add up the fees, it can set you back by nearly $500.

While people can be slapped with a $100 fine for possessing marijuana in the state of California, if they are caught driving under the influence of marijuana…now that’s a different story.

Under Section 23153 (e) of the Vehicle Code, it is unlawful for a person, while under the influence of any drug, to drive a vehicle and concurrently violate the law. Does this apply to small amounts of marijuana in the bloodstream? Yes, absolutely.

Can I get my DUID charge reduced?

Were you arrested for driving under the influence of marijuana? If there was no alcohol involved, the DMV can send your license back and won’t suspend your license on their own; however, if you are convicted under 23152(e), then the DMV will suspend it.

If your blood results show that your THC level was below 2 ng/ml, then hopefully the DA won’t file, since that means that you waited three hours after smoking pot before you got behind the wheel. Also, such low levels indicate that marijuana was likely not a factor.

On the other hand, if your THC level was 3-5 ng/ml, then you may be able to get a “wet reckless,” which is a plea that is better than getting convicted of DUI. It doesn’t trigger a license suspension, which means you can still drive!

If your THC was over 5 ng/ml, then you can expect the DA to go after a drug conviction. However, a skilled defense lawyer still may be able to get a wet reckless. In California, DUI Drug cases are different than alcohol cases; there is no clear THC amount that results in an automatic conviction.

One good rule of thumb: if your field sobriety tests didn’t go well and the police felt that you weren’t safe to drive, then the DA may pursue a DUI.

Contact an Orange County DUI attorney such as Virginia Landry who has extensive experience handling marijuana DUIs. We are on your side!

  • Board Certified Expert

    in DUI Defense

    Chosen as a “Top DUI Attorney” in Orange County & rated 10 out of 10 by Avvo.

    Meet Virginia L. Landry
  • Answers to All of

    Your Questions

    Visit our FAQ page to get answers to some of the most common questions.

    Read Common Questions
  • Get Help

    Immediately

    Don’t wait, time is of the essence. Contact us now for a free case evaluation.

    Get Started Today

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. - Orange County DUI Attorney
Located at 23046 Avenida De La Carlota, Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653.
View Map
Phone: (877) 384-7833
Local Phone: (949) 585-7400
Website:
© 2017 All Rights Reserved.

When You're

Ready to talk

Our firm is ready to listen. Call for a FREE case consultation.

Call Toll-Free 877.384.7833
Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.