The state of California views having a driver’s license as a privilege,
not as a “right.” That said, you can keep your driver’s
license providing that you adhere to specific conditions. If you fail
to comply with these strict conditions, the California Department of Motor
Vehicles can decide to suspend or your revoke your license.
Meaning, the DMV or the court can decide that you are NOT allowed to drive
license suspension or revocation are lifted, and you’re able to get your license reinstated.
Drug and Alcohol-Related Reasons for a Suspension
Here are the drug and alcohol-related reasons why your license can be suspended.
A conviction for driving under the influence. California is known for having some of the toughest DUI (alcohol or drugs)
laws in the nation. If you’re convicted of DUI, your license will
be suspended for six months for a first conviction. With a second or third
conviction, you may lose your license for up to four years.
Underage drinking. If you’re caught drinking while you’re under age, you’ll
lose your license for one year or until you turn 18, whichever one comes later.
Too many points on your driving record. If you accrue too many points, the DMV will suspend your license for six
months, or revoke it altogether.
If you were convicted of DUI, a
first offense results in a six month driver’s license suspension. You may get
your license reinstated after you complete the required DUI program.
If you were convicted of DUI and your blood alcohol concentration (BAC)
was .15% or higher and you have a record of previous DUIs, OR if you refused
to submit to a chemical test, you may have to complete a program that
lasts nine months or longer.
If your BAC was .20% or higher, and you are referred to an enhanced DUI
treatment program by the court, your driver’s license will be suspended
for 10 months.
To reinstate your license after a DUI, you must:
- Pay a $125 reissuance fee.
- File a Proof of Financial Responsibility (SR22).
- Enroll in a DUI treatment program and file a Certificate of Completion
(DL-101) once you complete it.
Can I get a restricted license?
If you were convicted of DUI and show proof of enrolment in a DUI treatment
program, you may be eligible for a restricted driver’s license after
a mandatory 30-day license suspension. In that case, the restricted driver’s
license would allow you to drive to the DUI treatment program and work.
the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry, Inc. to work with an Orange County
DUI attorney who is a Board Certified DUI specialist. Call now for a free case evaluation!