There are a number of circumstances under which DUI penalties can be increased from the minimums in the state of California. For example, if the person who receives the DUI has a prior conviction for drunk driving within the last 10 years, their minimum jail sentence and other penalties will automatically be increased. The more prior convictions, the higher the penalty. If a person has three prior
DUI convictions, they will face felony charges.
California also has enhanced DUI penalties for driving with a blood-alcohol concentration of over .15%. Refusing to submit to chemical testing is another way to receive an increased jail sentence as part of your DUI.
Usually, speeding and reckless driving will also increase the jail time and other penalties associated with a DUI. If a person drives more than 20mph over the speed limit on a surface street or 30mph over the speed limit on a freeway, that is considered reckless driving. DUIs also carry more severe penalties when a person under the age of 14 is also in the car or if any property or people are injured as a result of the DUI.
Do you have questions about DUI penalties in California? If so, contact the Law Offices of Virginia L. Landry now to get answers from an
Orange County DUI lawyer today.